The Impossible Lionel Messi

With the US now out of the World Cup, the inevitable question is, “Who are you rooting for, now?”

I’m a Bayern fan, so the logical choice would be Germany. I’m also a PSG fan so… Maybe France.

The truth is that I love Futbol. Even the Kia commercials.

What I love most about the sport is the extreme levels of talent that the players possess. I understand that a lot of practice (10,000 repetitions) can make you good at something, but talent is talent.

I had an inkling (like anyone else who has ever watched him touch the ball) that Lionel Messi was talented. But, I’m also a realist. I like quantifiable data to back up my inklings. Luckily for me, the folks over at FiveThirtyEight have put together the statistics to show just how impossibly talented Lionel Messi is. Read the article to see what they say.

So… with all that said, I’ll be pulling for Messi and Argentina on Sunday at noon.

 

Leave a Reply

